My Strange Addiction

Have you ever watched the show “My Strange Addiction“?  It features people with crazy addictions like eating chalk, drinking nail polish, and eating clay pots.  Weird, right?  I am fascinated by people with addictions, this is why I would sit and watch hours of “Intervention“.  Love that show!  I used to be addicted to the tanning beds, going everyday on my break at Winn-Dixi.   Sometimes going twice a day.  This continued until we moved to California and oddly enough, there aren’t tanning salons on every block!  There are only a few and I am not paying $100 for a month of unlimited. I draw the line at $40 unlimited, that and it is terrible for you.  Anyway, I think I now have a strange addiction.  It is something I never thought I would do, much less be addicted to.  I might be addicted to pumping!  Since going back to work, I pump 5-6 times a day on top of nursing.  This is to much.  I have plenty of milk in the freezer I can use and should.  My problem is that it is part of my routine.  I wake up to pump and eat breakfast.  At night a read my blogs and pump.  Time is blocked off on my work calendar to pump.  Why can’t I be like this with the gym?

Another sign of addiction is the number of pumps I have.  I have 2 double electric (one of work and one for home), 1 single manual, and 1 single electric.  They have all come in handy.  It is really helpful to have one I can leave at work since I already have a lot of stuff to carry back and forth.  This is one less thing to worry about.  Luckily, a friend let me borrow one.  The manual hand pump was great in the beginning when I need to relieve some pressure at night.  The single electric is great because it is portable.  I take it with me if we are going to be out all day.  Looking back I would have only bought the electric single pump out of the two singles.  I have the SimplyGo™ Single Electric Breast Pump.  

This week I have changed my routine and only pump once at work. I will try this for a few weeks to see how it goes.

For moms that pump and work, what is your schedule?  How many times do you nurse/pump a day?

4 thoughts on “My Strange Addiction

  1. Pingback: MIA | Babyops
  2. I always pumped three times a day at work and almost never at home. I would feed Luke right before I left (around 6:30 am) and then pump at 10, 1, and 4, and feed him again when I got home (at 6ish). I had the same basic schedule with Ella. I think I started cutting down my pumping sessions at work when they were around 10 months old because by then I was tired of it and work was more demanding. That let me comfortably wean from the pump by 12 months. I continued nursing when I was with them, but sent other things for them to drink when I was at work. Ella drank cow’s milk. Luke didn’t really care for milk in a cup (even mine) at the time so he drank juice and just nursed when I was home. Now he drinks soy milk.

Leave a Reply

