The Hospital Bag

One thing that people always talk about when you are pregnant is the hospital bag.  All the books and websites recommend that you have your bag packed and ready to go by week 32.  I found this a bit ridiculous.  I had a list that was given to us in the childbirth class and many of the items I only had one so couldn’t pack and it is a pretty long list.  The only thing I did ahead of time was my toiletry bag and I had Gatorade and granola bars ready to go in my bag.  This is the typical list of items to carry:

  • Insurance card, ID, any consent forms previously given, birth plan
  • Old nightgown
  • Slippers or slipper socks
  • Laptop loaded with relaxing music and perhaps a DVD or two
  • Hard candies
  • Junky magazines (like US Weekly)
  • Camera
  • Video Camera
  • Cell phone & charger
  • Snacks for partner
  • Toiletries (toothbrush, paste, hairbrush, shampoo, conditioner, body soap, body and face lotion, deodorant, mini loofah)
  • Shower sandals
  • Nice comfy towel
  • Junky undergarments
  • Nursing pillow
  • Nursing-appropriate bra or tank
  • Breast pads
  • Nursing-appropriate PJ
  • Hairdryer
  • Comfy clothes & toiletries for partner
  • Snacks
  • Comfy outfit to go home in (NOT pre-pregnancy size)
  • Coming home outfit for baby + swaddle blanket + car seat + pediatrician’s number

This list came from BabyCenter.  I used one that was similar from our class.

Wanting to be prepared I packed everthing on the list and in the end used almost nothing! I brought a bunch of magazines that went untouched.  I stayed in my hospital gown because I didn’t want to ruin my new gown and robe I bought for the hospital.  I was also provided with toiletries.  I brought all my makeup and I have still yet to touch.  If you want my opinion this is all you need:

  • Snacks
  • Comfy outfit to go home in (NOT pre-pregnancy size)
  • Coming home outfit for baby + swaddle blanket + car seat + pediatrician’s number
  • Nursing Pillow
  • Cell Phone and Camera
  • Nursing Bra
  • Extra Pillows

Kudzu thought the bags were for her.

Maybe for my next baby I will be more prepared and want to look nicer in the hospital.  This time I was just happy to meet Callan.

 

What did you wish you had while you were at the hospital? 

I wish I had my nursing pillow, but was glad I had an extra pillow since the hospital pillows were so horrible.  I have a pillow obsession though!

 

4 thoughts on “The Hospital Bag

Leave a Reply

