The secret to great peach cobbler

As I mentioned before, Bryan makes an awesome peach cobbler.  He made one on July 4th with the peaches we picked, but I forgot to take pictures because I was too busy eating.  His recipe comes from one of the best cookbooks ever, Calling All Cooks.  It is put out by the Alabama chapter of the Telephone Pioneers of America.  This recipe came out of version 2, but they are all great.  I have a ton of cookbooks and the ones put together for charities always seem the best.

I stole borrowed this one from my grandmother and found her recipes for pickles hidden in the pages

Now the peach cobbler recipe (from Calling All Cooks two).  I think the secret is the buttermilk.

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar

1 cup self rising flour

1 tsp. soda

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 stick of butter

2 cups or more of fresh peaches

Melt butter in deep baking dish.  Mix sugar, flour, soda, buttermilk, and vanilla.  Pour mixture in baking dish with butter.  Pour fruit in and spread evenly.  DO NOT MIX!  Bake 45 minutes to an hour.  The recipe doesn’t say what temperature to bake at, but I am assuming 35o degrees.

Enjoy~

One thought on “The secret to great peach cobbler

  1. I am getting hungry just reading this. The peach cobbler recipe looks surprisingly easy, I may just may it even though i am no baker!

Leave a Reply

